Musicians eye the Kwacha

FILE: CHEF performs at the Southern Tourism Agriculture and Commercial Show Society (STACCS) in Livingstone. PICTURE: SHIKANDA KAWANGA

WITH the Zambian Breweries-sponsored Zambia Music Awards (ZMA) no longer a fixture on the entertainment calendar, the inaugural Kwacha Music Awards organised by Ndola’s Sun Fm, which are on this evening at the Mulungushi International Conference Centre (MICC), have taken a somewhat significant place.

These are the only awards, which look like the real thing in town, and going by the jostling of votes by the musicians from members of the public, they are being taken seriously.
And they do not look to be small stuff either, even in terms of prize monies.
There will be huge interest in the Song-of-the-Year category where there is 408 Empire Chilepule Baby, Tiye P featuring Kekero Unajaila, TBwoy featuring Chef 187 I Miss You, Chef 187 featuring Daev Ma Years, and Jae Cash featuring Kekero Akamutima as well as Album-of-the-Year, which has Chef 187 Amnesia, Slap D Bw2, Jae Cash Giovani, Dope G Flowers, TBwoy Dweet and Tiye P RED.
The awards are plenty though.
The Best New Comer – Male has Daev, Drifta Trek, Neo, T-Low while the Best New Comer – Female has Bom$hell, Wacheda, Esther Chungu, Chilu and Tanny. Kekero, T-Sean, Mr Starsh, KB (K-Army), Mag44 and Ben Blazer are competing for the Best Sound Production while DJ Cosmo Pro Twerker, Petersen Kalukobo, 408 Empire (Chilepule Baby), Willz featuring Jedi Theresa and Jay Rox One and Only are in the running for Best Dancehall Song.
In the Best Hip-Hop Song category, there is Slap D Vagwada, Chef 187 featuring Mumba Yachi and Dope G Mundowendowe, Drifta Trek featuring Chef 187 Ma Dance Yanasalako, Church Zaninge and Tiye-P featuring Dope-G Ndefisosika Apa while Best R&B Song has T-Bwoy featuring Chef 187 I Miss You, Roberto Into You, F Jay Nilekelele, Neo Thanks To Your Ex and Coziem featuring Chef 187 Twikalafye Umukumo.
The Best Mainstream – Pop has Tiye P/Kekero Unajaila, T-Sean Mayeso, Jae Cash featuring Kekero Akamutima, Afunika Pama Order, Macky II Favour – Dabo Dabo with Kantu Wanjipaya, Wezi Nyimbo Zako, Lota House People Just Like Us, B’Flow featuring Just Slim Know Your Status and Kaladoshas featuring Tim My Mother’s Tears competing for the Most Conscious Song.
Ephraim with his song Jericho, Reuben Mulatwelela – Imembu Shesu, Ausward Yahweh, Kings Alikula are fighting for the Best Gospel Song – Male while Esther Chungu Runaway Child, Tholiwe Nyirenda Umulopa, Chileshe Bwalya (Tefyo Nali) and Martha Nanaka have their eyes on the Best Gospel Song – Female.
The Best Collaboration Award is an interesting one with Kantu, Wezi and Bomb$hell Anajaila – Cover, Chef 187 featuring Daev Ma Years, Chef 187 featuring Mumba Yachi and Dope G Mundowendowe, Afunika featuring Slap D Umwaume Wakulela and Tiye P featuring Kekero Unajaila in the running.
The Best Duo/Group has 408 Empire, Urban Hype, Davaos, HD Empire and Higher Calling while Amayenge Asoza, Uncle Rex and the Band, Air Power Band, Mutende Cultural Assemble and Barotse Band are nominated for Best Band.
Mount Sinai, Busokololo, Great Chronicles and Northmead Mega Choir are competing for the Best Choir Group while Ephraim (Teti Ntwishike), Reuben Naileta, Abel Chungu Musuka Love Unleashed – Deluxe, Ausward Jehovah El Shaddai, Chileshe Bwalya Talitha Cumi – Deluxe and Esther Chungu Mubanga are nominated for Gospel Album of the Year.
The Best Male Artists has Chef 187, Slap D, T-Sean, Macky II, Ephraim and Afunika while the Best Female Artist has Wezi, Kantu, Cleo Ice Queen, Chileshe Bwalya, Mampi and Salma Sky.
The Humanitarian Award has B’Flow, PilAto, Macky II, Petersen and Maiko Zulu while the Best International Achievement Award has Roberto, B’Flow, JK, Pompi and Mampi. The Lifetime Achievement Award has JK, Danny Kaya, Maureen Lupo Lilanda, Lady MC and Errol Hickey.
There are also various provincial awards up for grabs. Voting for the winners ended on September 20.

Facebook Feed