Law Development Commission members unveiled

NGOSA Simbyakula

MINISTER of Justice Ngosa Simbyakula has appointed and unveiled 13 members of the Zambia Law Development Commission (ZLDC) and urged them to ensure increased awareness among the public so that they can participate in the review and development of legislation.
Dr Simbyakula has also advised the commission to intensify interaction with the public by holding seminars and conferences to discuss contemporary legal issues.
He said in a statement yesterday that the commissioners have been mandated to research and make recommendations on the socio-political values of Zambians that should be incorporated into legislation.
The commissioners will also identify new areas of law that should be developed in response to changing needs of the Zambian society.
He also said that Government attaches great importance to the role that ZLDC plays as a catalyst for law revision and reform.
The minister also pledged Government commitment to improving the funding and profile of the commission in order to help it achieve its mandate.
Commissioners appointed include Justice Roydah Kaoma as chairperson, Ernest Beele, Sipula Kabanje, Jane Chinkusu and Ministry of Justice permanent secretary Patricia Jere.
Others are Mwela Chola, Tafuna Phiri, Francis Tembo, Alfred Sumani, Mukuli Chikuba, Winner Kanyembo, Musonda Lemba and Andrew Mwanakulanga.
And Dr Simbyakula has described the appointees as distinguished and well respected professionals drawn from a wide range of disciplines who would bring to the commission valuable experience acquired during their long careers.

Facebook Feed