Letter to the Editor

Fathy, Chicken omission from MTN awards glaring

Dear editor,
AFTER going through the nominations for the coach of the year award, I have been left wondering about the choice of the panelists.
The three-man list has Green Eagles’ coach Aggrey Chiyangi, Nkana’s Beston Chambeshi and Red Arrows’ gaffer, Chisi Mbewe.
Given the complexion of the 2018 league championship, it is gross injustice to ignore coach of the winning team George Lwandamina, who took over in round two.
If Mbewe is going to be considered, why did the seemingly partisan committee ignore the efforts of Napsa Stars coach Mohammed Fathy?
Fathy took over Napsa when the team was lying second from the bottom and worked hard to salvage it.
To deliberately omit Fathy and Lwandamina is a tragedy of the commons.
These are serious omissions by the FAZ-MTN Super Division panel which are almost unforgivable. No wonder the perception about the game and FAZ president Andrew Kamanga is suffering each day.
The ball is now in Kamanga’s court to salvage the panel by handing Fathy and Lwandamina the President’s award because it is absurd to ignore the contribution of Fathy and Lwandamina to our beautiful game.
What happened to the committee of Patrick Nyangulu, Robinson Kunda and others who were impartial in their selection.
Could there be a silent hand which manipulated the decisions of the committee?
Sad, sad, sad.

Facebook Feed