Entertainment Music

Cleo, Slap D, Roberto nominated for AFRIMMA

CLEO Ice Queen, Slap D and Roberto are the only three Zambian musicians nominated for the second African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) set for October 10 at the historic Black Academy of Arts and Letters, Dallas, Texas, in the United States.
The Ice Queen is nominated for Best Female Southern Africa alongside Bucie (South Africa), Toya De Lazy (South Africa), Busiwa (South Africa), Punah Gabasiane (Botswana), Lizha James (Mozambique) and Samantha Mogwe (Botswana).
Slap D will compete for Best Male Southern Africa with AKA (South Africa), Zeus (Botswana), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Stunner (Zimbabwe), Tha Dogg (Namibia), Donald (South Africa) and Vee (Botswana).
Roberto with his song Amarulah comes up against Wizkid – Ojuelegba (Nigeria), Korede Bello – Godwin (Nigeria), Lil Kesh featuring Olamide, Davido – Shoki (Nigeria), Stonebwoy featuring Sarkodie – Baafira (Ghana), Diamond Platnumz – Ntampata Wapi (Tanzania), Sauti Sol – Sura Yako (Kenya) and Cassper Nyovest – Doc Shabaleza (South Africa) for Song of the Year.
The nominees for this year’s awards ceremony, to be hosted by Nigerian humourist Basketmouth and her Ugandan counterpart Anne Kansiime, were announced on Tuesday.
“For those who came to last year’s show, prepare for a new level of surprises and excitement. For those who didn’t, don’t miss your chance to be a part of the music history,” AFRIMMA founder Anderson Obiagwu said in a statement.
“It will be a night of celebrating Africa’s top artistes, who are influencing the music scene and culture of Africa for the better.”
Other nominations have Flavour (Nigeria), Davido (Nigeria), Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania), Sarkodie (Ghana), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Fally Ipupa (Congo), Eddy Kenzo (Uganda), Wizkid (Nigeria), Yemi Alade (Nigeria) and Bucie (South Africa) for Artiste of the Year.
Flavour (Nigeria), Kwabena Kwabena (Ghana), Dobet Gnahore (Ivory Coast), Ladysmith Black Mambazo (South Africa), Mrisho Mpoto (Tanzania) and Soweto Gospel Choir (South Africa) are competing for Best Traditional Artiste.
The AFRIMMA Video of the Year has R2bees – Lobi (Ghana), Wizkid – Ojuelegba (Nigeria), Flavour – Gollibe (Nigeria), Diamond featuring Flavour – Nana (Tanzania), Tiwa Savage – My Darling (Nigeria), Bebe Cool – Love You Everyday (Uganda), Juliana Kanyomozi – Woman (Uganda) and AKA – Congratulate (South Africa).
Best Rap Act has Sarkodie (Ghana), AKA (South Africa), Olamide (Nigeria), NGA (Angola), Octopizzo (Kenya), Phyno (Nigeria), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa) and MI (Nigeria) while Best African Group pits P-Square (Nigeria) against Bana C4 (Congo), Toofan (Togo), Sauti Sol (Kenya), B4 (Angola), Black Motion (South Africa), R2bees (Ghana) and Magic System (Ivory Coast).

Facebook Feed