Football Sport

ZRL challenges Kabwe Warriors to win title


ZAMBIA Railways Limited (ZRL) has challenged Kabwe Warriors to win the 2016 Super Division title.
And striker Lameck Kafwaya was on Saturday night crowned Warriors’ 2015 best player.
ZRL managing director Christopher Musonda said Warriors have what it takes to conquer in the topflight.
Warriors last won the league title in 1987 under coach Bizwell Phiri.
Musonda said Warriors’ return to the big league has not only brought joy to Kabwe but the country at large.
“We won the league and here we are. Well done coaches and well done players,” said Musonda, who announced that he was stepping down as Warriors chairman.
Speaking during the team’s awards gala at his residence in Highridge, Kabwe, Musonda said 80 percent of the players will be retained.
He also said the core of the executive committee will be retained while some Kabwe residents will be co-opted.
He said the ZRL management wants ‘Magnificent’ Warriors to run as a community team.
And Deputy Minister of Transport and Communication James Kapyanga, who was guest of honour, paid tribute to Warriors for returning to the Super Division.
Coach Mohammed Fathy commended the players, executive committee, technical bench and supporters for rising to the occasion.
Warriors’ vice-chairman Hayden Dingwall urged the technical bench and players to soldier on and ensure the club competes with the best teams in the country.
Meanwhile, Kafwaya, who was instrumental in leading Warriors to the big league, was honoured for his performance.
“I did not expect to be honoured in this way. Otherwise I am very excited,” said Kafwaya, who scored seven goals.
Goal poacher Idris Mbombo, who scored 23 goals last season, was topscorer while midfielder Paul Simpemba and skipper Siloni Jere walked away with the most improved player and most consistent player awards respectively.
Mbombo has joined Super Division champions Zesco United on a one-year loan.
Moses Kalonda was named most disciplined player and Wayne Museba grabbed the young-player-of-the-year award.
Fathy, his assistants Kampamba Chintu, Tom Kampamba and Happy Sichikolo, all the players, team medics, kit masters and supporters were awarded with the chairman’s award.

Send Your Letters

Facebook Feed