Editor's Choice Football Sport

Zesco unveil Champions League squad

SUPER Division champions Zesco United have registered 27 players that include Nigerians defender Ayo Oluwafemi and striker Christopher Chigozie with the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the 2015 Champions League.
Zesco have also acquired Kenyan defender David Odhiambo and Zambian international forward Jonas Sakuwaha from Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) giants TP Mazembe.
Oluwafemi, 26, formerly of South African side University of Pretoria, was a free agent while Odhiambo, 26, has joined the George Lwandamina-tutored side from Kenyan side Gor Mahia.
Club media and public relations officer Katebe Chengo, who released the crack squad yesterday, said the club has also signed midfielder Misheck Chaila from Kabwe Warriors and striker Humphrey Maseneko from Konkola Blades.
He said they have decided to recruit the named players to reinforce the team that won the 2014 FAZ/MTN Super Division title and the Barclays Cup.
“The club wishes to announce that Innocent Mwaba has been recalled from a two-year loan at Ferroviarro de Maputo in Mozambique, Kondwani Mtonga has returned from a six-month loan at North East Club in India,” Chengo said.
She said the club has since opened talks with Mamelodi Sundowns to extend Togolese defender Mathias Emmanuel’s loan deal to enable him, help the Ndola outfit in this year’s continental campaign.
She said defender Gift Sakuwaha and striker Kangwa Chileshe are expected to leave the club following their requests to be given chance to look for clubs that will give them enough game time while Zimbabwean defender Zimiseleni Moyo has decided not to renew his contract after spending five years at the club.
Zesco will start their continental campaign with an away preliminary round, first leg against Mbabane Swallows of Swaziland on February 14 before hosting the Swazis in Ndola a fortnight later.
Goalkeepers: Jacob Banda, Lameck Nyangu, Brown Nyirenda
Defenders: Ayo Oluwafemi, David Odhiambo, Chishimba Changala, Bernard Mapili, Mathias Emmanuel, Dauti Musekwa, Bornwell Silengo
Midfielders:  Misheck Chaila, Innocent Mwaba, John Chin’gandu, Maybin Mwaba, Mwelwa Mwape, Simon Silwimba, Clatus Chama, Justin Zulu, Matthews Nkhowani, Kondwani Mtonga
Strikers: Jackson Mwanza, Jonas Sakuwaha, Winston Kalengo, Humphrey Maseneko, Lazarous Kambole, Juma Liuzio, Christopher Chigozie.

Send Your Letters

Facebook Feed