Zambia, 21 others sign COMESA, EAC, SADC agreement

ZAMBIA and 21 other countries have so far signed the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), East African Community (EAC) and Southern African Development Community (SADC) agreement, which will enhance regional trade and integration.
In 2016, Zambia signed the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area Agreement (TFTA).
Out of the total projected aggregate net benefit for the TFTA of over US$3.3 billion per annum, Zambia is expected to get US$149.9 million annually, without counting the expected new investment opportunities into the priority areas set in the diversification, value addition and innovation programmes.
Currently, the region has a population of 700 million people with an estimated gross domestic product of over US$1.4 trillion.
“A total of 22 countries out of 26 have now signed the…

Send Your Letters

Facebook Feed