Other Sport

Pembe rally attracts 51 drivers

FILE: JASSY Singh's Subaru Impreza digs out during the 2016 Zambia International Motor Rally in Chisamba. PICTURE: STAFRANCE ZULU

TWENTY-ONE drivers will battle for honours in the Pembe Milling fourth-round National Rally Championship.

The rally is billed for July 22 at Fringilla farm in Chisamba.
Reigning champions Muna Singh Junior will defend his title in a Subaru Imprezza N16.
Singh Jr won last years’s championship with a timing of 58:12 minutes in the 154.93 kilometre race ahead of Miles Monge.
Other notables competing in the event include Jassy Singh and Leroy Gomes, Geofrey Chulu, Vyon Pinto and Farook Ticklay.
The rest are Kyle Latife, Haminda Singh, Kleevan Gomes, Wellington Matimba, Muhammed Ally, Laston Hamoonga, Muhammed Hassan, Chibula Kapala, Zain Sidique, Yazdaa Ticklay, Mayur Patel, Kumaren Naidu and Aadil Ebrahim Gelu.
Zambia Motor Sport Association (ZMSA) rally commissioner Muna Singh Senior said during a press briefing yesterday that the competition will be tough.
“The drivers have been resting and when the rally starts, there will be a nerve-wracking battle full of energy. This rally will go half-way into the championship after a long break,” he said.
Singh Jr is leading the national rally championship log chart with 25 points, four better than Jassy Singh.
Gomes is third on 18 points, two clear of Monge while fifth-placed Geoffrey Chulu has 14 points.
And ZMSA deputy clerk of course Alex Samoyu said the overall distance for the rally is 202.99 kilometres while the stage distance will be 166 kilometres.
“Our estimated qualifying distance is 1.5 kilometres. As you may see, it is quite interesting that the national championship is still open considering that we have four more events remaining which include the Zambia International Rally,” he said.
Samoyu commended Pembe Milling Limited for its continued support towards the development of the sport.

Send Your Letters

Facebook Feed