You are currently viewing Lwandamina unveils squad
NATIONAL team players in training at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium annex field in Ndola. PICTURE: MULWANDA LUPIYA

Lwandamina unveils squad

NATIONAL team coach George Lwandamina has selected 23 players for next Wednesday’s 2017 Gabon Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Congo- Brazzaville.
Lwandamina has kept faith in the 10 foreign-based players that were named in the provisional 33-member squad last month.
Skipper Rainford Kalaba, Kennedy Mweene, Davies Nkausu, Evans Kangwa,
Nathan Sinkala, Stopilla Sunzu and Collins Mbesuma, all Africa Cup winners, are in the team.
Lwandamina has also included in-form striker Winston Kalengo, who is campaigning in Congo-Brazzaville.
Lwandamina has dropped eleven local players, who were part of the team that started preparations in Ndola two weeks ago.
These are goalkeeper Lawrence Mulenga, defenders Donashano Malama, George Chilufya, Dauti Musekwa, Boyd Mkandawire and Solomon Sakala.
Others are midfielders Mwape Mwelwa, Mwila Phiri, Charles Zulu, strikers Adamson Mulawo and Patson Daka.
The players were part of the Chipolopolo that reached the quarter-finals at the 2016 African Nations Championship in Rwanda.
Lwandamina has, however, retained defenders Buchizya Mfune, Adrian Chama, Stephen Kabamba, midfielders Christopher Katongo, Jackson Chirwa, Benson Sakala, Spencer Sautu and Isaac Chansa.
Striker Conlyde Luchanga is also in the squad.
Team manager Lusekelo Kamwambi said in an interview in Ndola on Wednesday that foreign-based players will start arriving on Sunday.
The team:
Goalkeepers: Kennedy Mweene (Mamelodi Sundowns/South Africa), Jacob Banda, (Zesco United), Racha Kola (Zanaco)
Defenders: Adrian Chama, Buchizya Mfune, Stephen Kabamba (both Green Buffaloes), Davies Nkausu (Free State Stars/South Africa), Stopilla Sunzu (Lille/France), Chongo Kabaso (TP Mazembe/DR Congo)
Midfielders: Jackson Chirwa, Christopher Katongo (both Green Buffaloes), Benson Sakala (Power Dynamos), Spencer Sautu (Green Eagles), Isaac Chansa, Salulani Phiri (both Zanaco), Rainford Kalaba, Nathan Sinkala (TP Mazembe/DR Congo), Lubambo Musonda (Gandzasar Kapan/Armenia), Cletus Chama (Zesco United)
Strikers: Collins Mbesuma (Mpumalanga Black Aces/South Africa), Evans Kangwa, (Hapoel Ra’anana/Israel), Luchanga (Lusaka Dynamos) and Winston Kalengo (AC Leopards/Congo).