Lwandamina drops Sakuwaha

ZESCO United coach George Lwandamina has dropped striker Jonas Sakuwaha ahead of Sunday’s CAF Champions League preliminary round first leg against Swazi outfit Mbabane Swallows.
Sakuwaha is on loan from Democratic Republic of Congo side TP Mazembe.
Also missing from the squad are striker Humphrey Maseneko and Nigerian midfielder Christopher Chigozie.
Former Konkola Blades forward Maseneko and Chizogie joined Zesco recently.
Club media and public relations officer Katebe Chengo, who released the list in Ndola yesterday, said 19 players have been selected for the clash set for Somhlolo National Stadium.
New recruits David Odhiambo from Kenya, Nigeria’s Ayo Oluwafemi, Juma Liuzio from Tanzania and Misheck Chaila, formerly of Kabwe Warriors, made the outing.
“I know that team [Swallows]. They have played Zambian teams before. They may not have the same team and players but the type of football they play is the same. Maybe it is their philosophy.
“They will want to rely on counter-attacks and are physical and we have worked on that,” said Lwandamina yesterday at Ndola’s Simon Mwansa Kapwepwe International Airport before departure for Mbabane.
Swallows lost 3-2 on aggregate to Zanaco in the CAF Champions League preliminary round in 2013 and went down 5-4 over two legs to Nkana in the same competition last year.
Meanwhile, VICTOR KUMWENDA reports that Power Dynamos yesterday arrived in Khartoum with coach Tenant Chilumba bubbling with confidence of beating Sudanese side Al Khartoum in Saturday’s Confederation Cup preliminary round first leg.
“We are very confident, we are very focussed and waiting for Saturday and with the right attitude from the players, we will conquer,” Chilumba said.
Club secretary Ricky Mamfunda said the team arrived in the Sudanese capital at 02:00 hours.
Power are accommodated at Grand Holiday Villa.
The Zesco team:
Goalkeepers: Jacob Banda, Lameck Nyangu.
Defenders: Dauti Musekwa, Bernard Mapili, Bornwell Silengo, Emmanuel Mathias, David Odhiambo, Ayo Oluwafemi.
Midfielders: Kondwani Mtonga, Misheck Chaila, Simon Silwimba, Cletus  Chama, Justin Zulu, Mathews Nkowani, John Ching’andu.
Strikers: Winston Kalengo, Jackson Mwanza, Juma Liuzio and Lazarous Kambole.

Send Your Letters

Facebook Feed