Football Sport

FAZ submits $198,000 budget for U-20 allowances

THE Football Association of Zambia (FAZ) has submitted a budget of US$198,800 (about K2 million) to Government for payment of allowances for under-20 national team players.
Football House officials told the Sports Mail in Lusaka yesterday that the budget was submitted early this week.
Zambia beat Senegal 2-0 to win the Africa Under-20 Cup of Nations on March 12 in Lusaka.
“We have submitted a budget of US$198,800 to the Government to pay the under-20 players and the technical bench. The players will receive US$2,000 each for appearing in the finals, they will get US$800 for storming the semi-finals while the preliminary allowance is at US$300 and daily allowance is at US$100,” the source said.
Meanwhile, coach Beston Chambeshi has implored under-20 national team players to work hard if they are to make it into the final team ahead of the FIFA South Korea World Cup.
Chambeshi said in an interview at Kenneth Kaunda International Airport in Lusaka yesterday before departure for the Four Nations Invitation tournament in South Korea that no one is assured of a place in the final team.
“No one is assured of a place in the final team that will go to the 2017 FIFA World Cup in South Korea. The players such as Simon Kola, Happy Nsofwa and Musonda Siame, who have replaced the foreign-based stars, have an opportunity to impress me and if they do that I will pick them,” he said.
The three-day tournament kicking off tomorrow has attracted Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Zambia and hosts South Korea.
Chambeshi is not targeting winning the tournament but assessing players.
The team has Mangani Banda (Zanaco), James Phiri (Circuit City), Samson Banda, Shemmy Mayembe (both Zesco United), Moses Nyondo (Nkana), Prosper Chilufya (Kafue Celtic), Benson Chali (Forest Rangers) Solomon Sakala (Napsa Stars) and Edward Tembo (Gomes FC).
Others are Stephen Chulu (Kabwe Warriors), Happy Nsofwa (Mufulira Police), Musonda Siame (Kafue Celtic) and Joseph Phiri (Red Arrows)
The rest are Sydney Phiri (Gomes FC), Crispin Sakulanda (Mufulira Wanderers), Harrison Musonda (Nkana), Boyd Musonda (Zanaco) Edward Chilufya (Mpande Youth Academy), Enock Mwepu (Napsa Stars) and Conlyde Luchanga (Lusaka Dynamos).

Facebook Feed