You are currently viewing Copperbelt basketball awards gala set

Copperbelt basketball awards gala set

THE Copperbelt Basketball Association will mark its entry into the New Year with the holding of its awards night where outstanding performances of the 2016 season will be recognised at a ceremony in Kitwe this Saturday.
According to information availed to the Mail by CBA chairman Andrew Nyirenda, the event, mainly sponsored by Lunga Resources, will be held at After Ten restaurant, where the ceremonial crowning of the league winners will be conducted.
Lunga Bullets and Lunga Woosters, respectively, won the men’s super league and women’s division championship.
New league entrants Kalewa Garrison, with only one loss in the season, scooped the Men’s B league title thus gaining promotion to the A – league.
Other awards at stake include the CBA Super League Most Valuable Player in the men and women categories and in each, three names have been shortlisted.
Copperbelt University Comets marksman Bongani Zulu, Lunga Bullets John Waitolo and Sunday Besa of Kamfinsa Cardinals are in contention for the men’s Super League MVP.
For the men’s B – league lined up for the MVP are Musonda Chilufya and Moses Chisha of Riverside Tigers along with Kalewa Garrisons Nicky Chibamba
In the women’s category the three MVP finalists are Busiswe Nakazwe of Copperbelt Energy Corporation Queens, CBU Robins duo Mwaka Lisulo and Mwila Mulenga, Lunga Woosters Cynthia Mpilimpili and Charity Maseko of Don Bosco Storms.
The men’s Super League Most Defensive player award narrows down two Bullets players in Waitolo and Aubrey Kamwayi, who will run the race along with Mwape Kaimbi of CEC Cavaliers.
Kaimbi will also be in anticipation as he has been shortlisted for the super league Most Improved Player award which he will compete for against team-mate Taonga Ngoma and Zachariah Chimuka of Comets.
Robins Lisulo and Mulenga MVP candidates have also been shortlisted for the feminine MVP award with Deborah Njobvu from Chingola’s Don Bosco.
Other awards are the Super League coach of the year, feminine league coach of the year and B league coach of the year.
The organising committee has appointed a selection committee to determine the winners.
Nyirenda thanked Lunga Resources for sponsoring the event for the second consecutive year.